2017 ABTA Doctoral Researcher Awards

ABTA is delighted to announce the finalists and honourable mentions of the 2017 Doctoral Researcher Awards. We received 181 applications from 45 universities in the UK and the quality of the applications was exceptionally high. We would like to thank all applicants.

The award ceremony will take place at University College London (UCL) on Saturday, 20 May, 2017.


  9.30 – 10.00  Registration
10.00 – 10.15  Welcome Speeches
10.15 – 12.00  Presentations*
12.00 – 13.30  Reception and Poster Session**
13.30 – 14.30  ~ Awards Ceremony ~

Venue:  Darwin Lecture Theatre
University College London (UCL), Gower St, London WC1E 6BT

Click here for registration.

* Finalists will be presenting their work for the selection of 1st, 2nd and 3rd places in the categories of Natural & Life Sciences, Management & Social Sciences and Engineering Sciences.

** In addition, the finalists and the honourable mentions will present their research in a poster session.

The programme will end with presentation of awards to the winners.

Guests of Honour

Prof Josef Kittler
(University of Surrey)
FREng (2000)
KS Fu Prize (2006)
IET Faraday Medal (2008)

Sir Michael Pepper
(University College London, University of Cambridge)
Hughes Medal (1987)
Royal Medal (2005)
FREng (2009)


Finalists (in alphabetic order):

Management & Social Sciences
•  Ayten Bilgin - University of Warwick
Infant Regulatory Problems: Neurodevelopmental Vulnerability and Sensitive Parenting
•  Eliza Garnsey - University of Cambridge
The Art of Justice and The Justice of Art in ‘Post-Apartheid’ South Africa
•  Hannah Baker - University of Cambridge
The Demolition and Adaptation of Existing Buildings on Masterplan Sites
•  Shuangmiao Han - University of Oxford
The Trying Game: Policy Experimentation and Higher Education Reforms in Contemporary China
•  Yuli Shan - University of East Anglia
Development of China's Emission Accounts and Datasets

Engineering Sciences
•  Adarsh Ganesan - University of Cambridge
Probing Nonlinear Resonances in Microelectromechanical Systems
•  Isha Gupta - University of Southampton
Extracellular Neural Signal Compression with Nanoscale Memristors
•  Jing Wang - Bournemouth University
Matrix Factorization with Application on Clustering
•  Shuping Dang - University of Oxford
Relay Technology for The Next Generation Communication Networks
•  Yuanwei Liu - King's College London
Cooperative Non-Orthogonal Multiple Access with Simultaneous Wireless Information and Power Transfer

Natural & Life Sciences
•  Angelo Di Bernardo - University of Cambridge
Superconducting Spintronics
•  Jolene Reid - University of Cambridge
Computational Methods for Predicting Chiral Phosphoric Acid Catalyst Performance
•  Julius Bier Kirkegaard - University of Cambridge
Physics to Understand Biology
•  Katarzyna Sokol - University of Cambridge
Photoelectrochemistry of Photosystem II Integrated into Tailor-Made 3-D Electrodes
•  Kent Griffith - University of Cambridge
Synthesis and Structural Characterisation of Next-Generation Energy Storage Materials

Honourable Mentions
Natural & Life Sciences

• Abdulrahman Baki - University of Nottingham
• Anita Toscani - Imperial College London
• Isabel  Abanades Lazaro - University of Glasgow
• Naomi Moris - University of Cambridge
• Yavuz Kulaberoglu - University of Cambridge

Management & Social Sciences
• Biye Gao - SOAS, University of London
• Brian  O'Shea - University of Warwick
• Donatella Bonansinga - University of Birmingham
• Katarzyna Kostyrka-Allchorne - University of Essex
• Laura Diorella Islas Liminana - University of Bath
• Marina Charalampidi - University of Warwick
• Mary Zhang - University of Cambridge

Engineering Sciences
• Ahmed Mohammed - University of Portsmouth
• Anmar  Dulaimi - Liverpool John Moores University
• Chrysoula Voulgari - University of Warwick
• Dongwei Du - University of Warwick
• Guotai Wang - University College London
• Mohammed A. M. Abdullah - Newcastle University
• Prabhuraj Balakrishnan - University of Manchester
• Ricardo da Conceicao Ribeiro - Newcastle University
• Rossana Castaldo - University of Warwick
• Stephen Chan - University of Manchester
• Tongyang Xu - University College London
• Zhe Li - University College London
• Zhijin Qin - Imperial College London