2018 Doctoral Researcher Awards Ceremony

2018 Doctoral Researcher Awards Ceremony

The grand prix is over. On May 12th ABTA held the 7th UK Doctoral Researcher Awards ceremony in the junior academics' Hall of Fame: UCL Darwin Hall. 15 finalists and 

The program began by an opening from the host Dr Yuge Ma, a fellow of Oxford University, who was one of the recpients of DRA awards in the 2015 competition. In the morning session the finalists showed outstanding performance in presenting their PhD research which drew infinite number of questions from the audence (which were skilffully reduced to finite numbers by the program host). 

After the morning presentations, second part of the program began where the knowledge exchange continued in the form of Q&A in the poster hall. 

In the afternoon the excitement in the crowd made a peak as everyone turned into ears to hear winners. It went like this:


Natural & Life Sciences

1 - Sara Priego Moreno, University of Birmingham

2 - Gavin Rutledge, University of Cambridge

3 - Jason Pottcary, University of Bristol

4=5 - Valerio Fasono, University of Manchester; Kayn Forbes, East Anglia University


Social & Management Sciences

1 - Amin El Yousfi, University of Cambridge

2 - Kathryn Medien, University of Warwick

3 - Ozlem Eylem, Queen Mary University of London

4=5 - Abrar Chaudry, University of Oxford; Kasturi Hazarika, University of York

Engineering Sciences

1 - Ishara Dharmasena, University of Surrey

2 - Maria Pregnolato, Newcastle University AND Antonio del Rio Chanona, University of Cambridge

4=5 - Tian Tian, University of Cambridge; Yiou Wang, University College London


Honorable Mentions


Natural and Life Sciences

Mina Bergstad - University of Manchester
Katherine Ellis - Aston University
Leen Kalash - University of Cambridge
Diogo Mosqueira - University of Nottingham
Laura Prichard - University of Oxford
Sourav Sahoo - University of Southampton
Adam Sedgwick - University of Bath

Management and Social Sciences

Ines Ferreira - University of East Anglia
Rahul Jalil - Birmingham City University


Engineering Sciences

Adeayo Sotayo - Lancaster University

Anmar Dulaimi, Liverpool John Moores Unive
Benjamin Tam - University College London
Jaime Gaspar - University of Kent
Khalid Hashim - Liverpool John Moores University
Pinelopi Kyvelou - Imperial College London
Ramesh Vandanapu - Kingston University London
Tu Bui - University of Surrey
Yang Zheng - University of Oxford
Craig Buchanan – Imperial College London
Daryus Chandra - University of Southampton

Register Now