2014 Doctoral Researcher Awards

2014 Doctoral Researcher Awards

ABTA is delighted to announce the winners of the 2014 Doctoral Researcher Awards competition. The winners have received their awards before an audience of academics, postgraduate students, family and friends at LBS's Lecture Theatre 1 on Sunday, 25th of May 2014. Chosen from more than 210 applications after a rigorous judging process, finalists had to demonstrate their presentation skills for the selection of 1st, 2nd and 3rd places in the categories of Natural & Life Sciences, Engineering Sciences, and Management & Social Sciences.

The award ceremony started with Dean of LBS, Professor Sir Andrew Likierman’s welcome speech. Following the welcome speech, the finalists in the categories of Natural & Life Sciences, Engineering Sciences, and Management & Social Sciences, stepped on to the platform to present their research. After the presentations of 9 finalists, there was a break for poster session and lunch. The finalists and honourable mentions found opportunity to present their researches and to get into touch with selected PhD students and audiences.

After the break, 2013 ABTA Doctoral Researcher Awards finalists Dr. Anya Kleymenova, Assistant Professor at University of Chicago, and Dr. Sundeep Teki, Research Associate at University Collage London, gave speeches on "Tips for PhD Success and Moving on as a researcher after completing PhD".

Moving on to the awards ceremony, Honourable Mentions and Awardees were announced in each category. The winners were presented with their certificates and awards by senior academics. The award for finalists consisted of a cash prize and certificate. Honourable Mentions of each category received a certificate and kindle.

Dr. Bilal Gökpınar, ABTA Executive Committee member, delivered the closing remarks and finally the audience gave a standing ovation to all winners and organizers of the 2014 ABTA Doctoral Researcher Awards competition. The ceremony ended with taking photographs of all winners and judges.

We would like to once again thank London Business School for hosting 2014 ABTA Doctoral Researcher Awards. Due to the very high quality of the works received, it has been very hard to select the winners. Nonetheless, here they are and congratulations to you all.



       Natural & Life Sciences
1st  Owen Weller - University of Oxford
2nd Sandra Greiss - University of Warwick
3rd  Lars Oliver Herrmann - University of Cambridge

      Management & Social Sciences
1st  Angelica Beatriz Ortiz de Gortari - Nottingham Trent University
2nd Philipp Hessel - London School of Economics
3rd  Sercan Ozcan - Aberystwyth University

       Engineering Sciences
1st  Piran Ravichandran Kidambi - University of Cambridge
2nd Mohammad Rabia Alenezi - University of Surrey
3rd  Amol Choudhary - University of Southampton

Honourable Mentions

    Natural & Life Sciences
• Giuliana Di Martino - Imperial College London
• Ka Yu Yeung - University of Warwick
• Matthew Grayson - University of Cambridge
• Nidhi Nair - University of Dundee
• Selcuk Topal - University of Oxford

    Engineering Sciences
• Abbas Al-Hdabi - Liverpool John Moores University
• Dursun Can Ozcan - University of Edinburgh
• Fabien Massabuau - University of Cambridge
• Phillip James - Swansea University
• Raphaële Clement - University of Cambridge
• Brecht De Man - Queen Mary University of London

    Management & Social Sciences
• Achilleas Boukis - Sussex university
• Ali Sarihan - University of Nottingham
• Daniel Jolley - University of Kent
• Daniela Arroyo Barrantes - University of Cambridge
• Natasa Lackovic - University of Nottingham
• Francis Shennan - University of Stirling



Event Gallery